Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Gerrard Wins Footballer of the Year Award

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has been voted the 2009 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association.

The England midfielder topped the poll of journalists ahead of Manchester United duo Ryan Giggs and Wayne Rooney to win the prestigious accolade, which has been running since 1948.

The 28-year-old Anfield hero has scored 23 goals this season to spearhead Liverpool's continuing challenge to Premier League leaders Manchester United as the Reds bid to land their first league title for 19 years.

"Steven's performances this season have been of the highest quality," said chairman of the FWA Steve Bates.

"His drive and desire have underpinned Liverpool's Premier League title challenge and ensured a tight finish to the season.

"Steven is clearly in his prime and quite rightly rated one of the finest midfield players of his generation, and the FWA are delighted to honour his contribution to club and country."

Gerrard, the first Liverpool player to win it since John Barnes in 1990, will receive the award at the FWA's gala dinner in London on 29 May. The Huyton-born player follows in the illustrious footsteps of Stanley Matthews, Bobby Moore, George Best and more recently Thierry Henry, Frank Lampard and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Second-placed Giggs was named the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year in April.

No comments :

Post a Comment